CSA’s New T20 League Called “SA20” & Players Signed

The new SA20 league is CSA’s third attempt at creating a premier T20 tournament similar to the IPL, BBL and a few others. Cricket South Africa failed to launch the T20 Global League in 2017 and the Mzansi Super League only lasted for 2 seasons before folding.

Graeme Smith, the tournament commissioner, confirmed that the player auction for the inaugural season, to be played from January – February next year, will be held on September 19.

There are six teams which are all owned by groups that own teams in the IPL. These teams have already signed between two and five players apiece from a group of marquee players.

The SA20 league is currently working on player registrations and will present the franchises with a shortlist of candidates ahead of the auction.

Let’s take a look at the six teams and the players they’ve signed so far:

SA20 Teams & Players Signed So Far

MI Cape Town

  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Dewald Brevis
  • Rashid Khan
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Sam Curran

Durban Franchise

  • Quinton De Kock
  • Prenelan Subrayen
  • Jason Holder
  • Kyle Mayers
  • Reece Topley

Johannesburg Super Kings

  • Faf du Plessis
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Moeen Ali
  • Maneesh Theekshana
  • Romario Shephard

Paarl Royals

  • David Miller
  • Corbin Bosch
  • Jos Buttler
  • Obed McCoy

Pretoria Capitals

  • Anrich Nortje
  • Migael Pretorius

Sunrisers Eastern Cape

  • Aiden Markram
  • Ottniel Baartman


Get weekly emails packed with the best tips and sports content.

Get ahead of the game now – fill in the contact form below.

Author: editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.